Research centres and faculties

Charles Sturt University has four Research Centres and three Faculties. They are designed to bring together staff around a coherent theme.

Research centres

Charles Sturt University has four University Research Centres. They are designed to bring together staff around a coherent research theme. Each Centre has broad influence and engagement across the University.

University Research Centres leverage their resources to attract external funding to promote achievement as they engage in identifying, pursuing and sharing intellectual leadership with quality domestic and international research partners. The research conducted within the Centres is strongly complemented by research conducted with the Faculties of the University.

Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation

A collaboration between Charles Sturt University and the NSW Department of Primary Industries, which aims to increase profitability in the grain and livestock industries, reduce natural resource degradation and support a sustainable economic future for agriculture.

National Wine and Grape Industry Centre

A collaboration between Charles Sturt University, the NSW Department of Primary Industries and the NSW Wine Industry Association undertaking research in grape and wine science.

Institute for Land, Water and Society

Undertaking integrated environmental, social and economic research, including regional development, rural social issues, and Indigenous business and cultural heritage.

Public and Contextual Theology

Undertaking research in faiths and culture, theory and praxis in public and contextual theology, religion and society, and scripture and social ethics.


Charles Sturt University has three Faculties (Arts and Education, Business, Justice & Behavioural Sciences, and Science) and comprise a number of Schools and centres for specific areas of study and research.

Faculties operate across campuses and are responsible for developing and delivering courses, while schools are generally based on a single campus and carry responsibility for teaching subjects.

Faculty of Science

Faculty of Science

Our disciplines include: Agricultural and Wine, Animal and Veterinary,Environmental and Outdoor Recreation, Allied Health and Paramedicine, Exercise and Sport, Medical and Dentistry, Nursing, Midwifery and Indigenous Health.

Faculty of Business, Justice and Behavioural Sciences

Faculty of Business, Justice and Behavioural Sciences

Our specialities are in policing, law, criminology, security, emergency management, customs and excise studies, border management, psychology, accounting, engineering, human resources, marketing, business management, computing and information technology.

Faculty of Arts and Education

Faculty of Arts and Education

Our specialities are performing and visual arts, art history, communications, human services, library and information studies, theology, sociology, literature, philosophy, history, Indigenous Australian studies, education, teacher education, Islamic studies and civilisation.