Southern NSW Drought Resilience Hub

Welcome to the Southern NSW Drought Resilience Hub: a consortium of nine regional partners including primary producers, Indigenous, industry and community groups, researchers, entrepreneurs, education institutions, resource management practitioners and government agencies.

Charles Sturt University is proud to lead the Southern NSW Hub, one of eight hubs being established across Australia to combat drought and form the epicentre of user-driven innovation, research and adoption and facilitate transformational change through the co-design of research, development, extension, adoption and commercialisation (RDEA&C) activities.

Based at the Charles Sturt University AgriPark in Wagga Wagga, the Southern NSW Drought Resilience Hub will enable regional stakeholders to have a voice in drought resilience activities, collaborate with experts, gain access to resources, and participate in adoption programs such as workshops, seminars and field days.

Program highlights

Economic resilience for an innovative and profitable agricultural sector

Social resilience for resourceful and adaptable communities

Environmental resilience for sustainable and improved functioning of farming landscapes

About the Hub

The northern boundary of the Southern NSW Hub is described by a line from Broken Hill to Cobar, which joins the Macquarie catchment northern boundary near Quambone. We include most of the Macquarie River catchment, specifically the higher elevation areas in the upper reaches and Macquarie River-dependent irrigation areas, and lower reaches of the Darling River, south of 32 degrees latitude. The Southern NSW Hub boundary follows the western and southern edges of the Hunter catchment and joins the northern edges of the Sydney Catchment near Kandos and meets the coast near the mouth of the Hawkesbury River. The Southern NSW Hub's southern and western boundaries are the VIC and SA state borders.

More information on the Australian Government Future Drought Fund

Join the Hub Team

Be a part of a team making a significant impact on the drought resilience capacity of the agricultural industry and rural, regional and remote communities living with the issue and consequences of drought.

To register your interest, please contact us at the email address below.

Get in touch with us

Email :

Southern NSW Region

The Southern NSW Drought Hub Region

Events and news

Join us for the Future Drought Fund’s first annual Science to Practice Innovation Forum connecting researchers, practitioners, farmers, agri-businesses, governments, and end-users who are making regional Australia more drought resilient.

Hear from best-practice experts, government representatives, and on-the-ground practitioners working across sustainable agriculture, climate science, community development, and farm business management.

Register for the in-person Wagga Wagga event

Register to join online

Get involved

As a regional stakeholder, the Southern NSW Drought Resilience Hub gives you a voice in drought resilience activities and an opportunity to collaborate with experts, gain access to resources, and participate in extension and adoption programs such as workshops, seminars and field days.

Sign up and we’ll be in touch

Funding and collaborators


  • Charles Sturt University (Hub lead)
  • Australian National University (ANU)
  • Farming Systems Groups Alliance (represented by Farm\Llink and include Central West Farming Systems, FarmLink Research Ltd, Holbrook Landcare Network, Irrigated Cropping Council, Irrigation Research & Extension Committee, Riverine Plains and Southern Growers and over 3,500 farmer members
  • First Nations Governance Circle (Charles Sturt University)
  • Local Land Services (LLS)
  • NSW Department of Primary Industries (NSW DPI)
  • Rural Aid
  • University of Canberra (UC)
  • University of Wollongong (UoW).

Funding Acknowledgment

The Southern NSW Drought Resilience Hub Future is funded by the Drought Fund: an Australian Government Initiative.

Australian National UniversityFarmLinkNew South Wales Department of Primary IndustriesRuralAidUniversity of CanberaaUniversity of Wollongong

Charles Sturt University aims to create a world worth living in